Buy, Win, Help

Read how former and current trainees of the Lufthansa Group get involved with help alliance every year and how Sandra from the Obizi project in Nigeria supports this involvement

The idea is simple: buy an Advent calendar, hang it up and open a little door every day during Advent. If the winning number on the door matches the calendar number on the back, you have won. The proceeds from the calendar sale support help alliance projects. Last year, the Obizi project in southwest Nigeria was supported with more than 14,000 euros. The idea of the then Start Cargo Trainees was born 3 years ago with a mulled wine at the Christmas market: “At the market there was the opportunity to buy and win Advent calendars at the Lions Club. We asked ourselves why such a thing doesn’t actually exist within Lufthansa. The idea was born and implemented quite successfully in its first year,” says Jan Wegner, who is now responsible for the worldwide engine special tools at Mobile Engine Services at Lufthansa Technik and was then a trainee at Lufthansa Cargo. The prizes for the calendar are made available to Lufthansa Group-wide by departments. From suitcases and flight vouchers to cheese knives, the prizes are a colourful mix.

Positive reactions to commitment

“With the help alliance, there is the possibility of directly supporting projects and being sure that the entire amount will also benefit the project – because the administrative structure of the organization is borne by the Lufthansa Group. There is also the attraction of using the potential of the enormous number of employees in the Lufthansa Group for this purpose. After the first edition, the feedback was so positive that it’s simply fun to get together for the Advent calendar and collect a huge sum of money with relatively little effort and over a short period of time thanks to the willingness of colleagues to donate,” says Sebastian Blech. In order to be able to pass on the donations even better and to be on the safe side legally, the “Trainee Adventskalender Spendenverein” was founded, which is currently managed by Sebastian Blech and Manuel Postbiegel. The feedback from colleagues was consistently positive, the calendar is sold through all Lufthansa Group companies: “This year, in addition to many colleagues from Lufthansa Passage, Cargo and Technik, there were also many orders from Eurowings, AirPlus or Miles and More. There were also orders from abroad,” says Manuel Postbiegel. This coming winter, the calendar will enter its fifth season: “We are looking forward to starting the campaign again and would like to take this opportunity to thank all our donors and sponsors,” says Sebastian Blech.

 

Support for Sandra from Obizi

Each year a different help alliance project is supported. It was the Obizi project in Nigeria’s turn in 2018. The Obizi People Health Medical Center in Nigeria was founded in 1999 and provides health care for the inhabitants of Obizi. Project manager is Arnd Klinge, flight captain at Lufthansa in Frankfurt and founding member of the help alliance. The aid organization was able to finance a substantial part of the expansion of the Health Center. More than 1,000 patients are treated in the OPMC every month. Meanwhile, schools in the vicinity of the hospital are also being renovated in order to provide help in education as well as health care. The region in which Obizi is located is still known to many as the civil war region of Biafra. To this day, the region has not been able to fully recover from the damage caused by the war of independence. The hospital in Obizi also trains nursing staff. Sandra, for example, has successfully completed her training as a nurse at the OPMC. 

A role model for others

Today 20 year old Nnamocha Sandra Oluomachi, her full name, started her training in January 2016. She has always had a great interest in health and medicine, she says. Many people from the surrounding villages came to her graduation ceremony on 28 December last year. “They were all so proud of me, it overwhelmed me,” says Sandra proudly. “My family and I are very grateful for the opportunity that I got here and that would not have been possible without the support of help alliance,” Sandra continued. “One of my favourite moments in training was when I was on a mission in the operating theatre and the other staff were amazed when they found out that I was still in training,” Sandra said happily. With the equipment from her training at hand, she can now tackle the next stations in her career and continue to be a role model for everyone else in the hospital. 

Support us.

Frankfurter Sparkasse 1822
IBAN: DE89 5005 0201 0200 0292 23
BIC: HELADEF1822

/

Kaufen, Gewinnen, Helfen

Lesen Sie wie sich ehemalige und aktuelle Trainees der Lufthansa Group jedes Jahr für help alliance engagieren und wie dieses Engagement Sandra aus dem Obizi-Projekt in Nigeria unterstützt

Die Idee ist simpel: Adventskalender kaufen, aufhängen und jeden Tag im Advent ein Türchen öffnen. Wenn die im Türchen genannte Gewinnnummer mit der Kalendernummer auf der Rückseite übereinstimmt, hat man gewonnen. Der Erlös des Kalenderverkaufs unterstützt help alliance-Projekte. Im vergangenen Jahr konnte so das Obizi-Projekt im Südwesten Nigerias mit mehr als 14.000 Euro unterstützt werden. Die Idee der damaligen Start Cargo Trainees entstand vor drei Jahren auf dem Weihnachtsmarkt: „Auf dem Markt gab es das Angebot beim Lions Club Adventskalender zu kaufen und zu gewinnen. Wir haben uns gefragt, warum es so etwas eigentlich nicht innerhalb der Lufthansa gibt. Die Idee war geboren und schon im ersten Jahr recht erfolgreich umgesetzt“, erzählt Jan Wegner, der damals Trainee bei Lufthansa Cargo war. Die Gewinne für den Kalender werden von Abteilungen zur Verfügung gestellt. Vom Koffer über Fluggutscheine bis hin zum Käsemesser sind die Gewinne bunt gemischt.

Positive Reaktionen auf Engagement

„Bei der help alliance gibt es die Möglichkeit, Projekte direkt zu unterstützen und sich sicher zu sein, dass der gesamte Betrag auch dem Projekt zugutekommt – denn die administrative Struktur der Organisation wird vom Lufthansa Konzern getragen. Zudem gibt es den Reiz, dass Potential der enormen Mitarbeiterzahl des Konzerns für diesen Zweck zu nutzen. Nach der ersten Auflage war das Feedback so positiv, dass es einfach Spaß macht, sich für den Adventskalender zusammenzutun und mit relativ wenig Aufwand und über einen kurzen Zeitraum dank der Spendenbereitschaft der Kollegen eine riesige Summe zu sammeln“, so Sebastian Blech. Um die Spenden noch besser weitergeben zu können und rechtlich auf der sicheren Seite zu sein wurde daher sogar der „Trainee Adventskalender Spendenverein“ gegründet, der aktuell von Sebastian Blech und Manuel Postbiegel als Vorstand geführt wird. Das Feedback der Kollegen sei durchweg positiv, der Kalender verkauft sich über alle Gesellschaften der Lufthansa Group: „Es gab in diesem Jahr neben vielen Kollegen der Lufthansa Passage, Cargo und Technik auch viele Bestellungen der Eurowings, von AirPlus oder Miles and More. Auch aus dem Ausland gab es Bestellungen“, sagt Manuel Postbiegel. Im kommenden Winter geht der Kalender in die fünfte Saison: „Wir freuen uns schon drauf die Aktion wieder zu starten und möchten auf diesem Weg allen Spendern und Sponsoren danken“, sagt Sebastian Blech.

 

Unterstützung für Sandra aus Obizi

Jedes Jahr wird ein anderes help alliance-Projekt unterstützt. Das Obizi-Projekt in Nigeria war 2018 an der Reihe. Das Obizi People Health Medical Center in Nigeria besteht seit Gründungsjahr der help alliance 1999 und gewährleistet die Gesundheitsversorgung der Einwohner von Obizi. Projektleiter ist Arnd Klinge, Flugkapitän bei Lufthansa in Frankfurt und Gründungsmitglied der help alliance. Die Hilfsorganisation konnte einen wesentlichen Teil des Ausbaus des Health Center finanzieren. Monatlich werden im OPMC über 1.000 Patienten versorgt. Inzwischen werden auch Schulen in der Umgebung des Krankenhauses saniert, um neben der gesundheitlichen Versorgung auch Hilfestellung in der Bildung zu geben. Die Region, in der Obizi liegt, ist vielen noch als Bürgerkriegsregion Biafra bekannt. Das Gebiet hat sich bis heute nicht ganz von den Schäden des Unabhängigkeitskrieges erholen können. Im Krankenhaus in Obizi wird auch Personal für den Pflegebereich ausgebildet. Wie zum Beispiel Sandra, die im OPMC ihre Ausbildung zur Krankenschwester erfolgreich abgeschlossen hat. 

Ein Vorbild für andere

Die heute 20-jährige Nnamocha Sandra Oluomachi, so ihr vollständiger Name, startete ihre Ausbildung im Januar 2016. Sie hatte schon immer ein sehr großes Interesse an Gesundheit und Medizin, erzählt sie. Zu ihrer Abschlussfeier am 28. Dezember letzten Jahres sind viele Menschen aus den umliegenden Dörfern gekommen. „Sie waren alle so stolz auf mich, es hat mich überwältigt“, sagt Sandra stolz. „Meine Familie und ich sind sehr dankbar für die Chance, die ich hier erhalten habe und die es ohne die Unterstützung von help alliance nicht gegeben hätte“, so Sandra weiter. „Einer meiner Lieblingsmomente in der Ausbildung war, als ich einen Einsatz im Operationssaal hatte und die anderen Mitarbeiter erstaunt waren, als sie erfuhren, dass ich noch in der Ausbildung bin“, freut sich Sandra. Mit dem Rüstzeug aus ihrer Ausbildung an der Hand, kann sie nun die nächsten Stationen in ihrer Karriere angehen und weiter im Krankenhaus ein Vorbild für alle anderen sein.  

Unterstützen Sie uns.

Frankfurter Sparkasse 1822
IBAN: DE89 5005 0201 0200 0292 23
BIC: HELADEF1822

/