Take part: 226 kilometers for iThemba

Lufthansa flight attendant Riitta Knodt dedicates her participation at Ironman Frankfurt to the help alliance project in South Africa

 

True to the motto “Meter by meter, stone by stone”, Riitta Knodt is taking part in the Ironman in Frankfurt on 30 June and is collecting donations for the school extension in the help alliance project iThemba. In one of the poorest townships in Cape Town

help alliance in the iThemba primary school in Capricorn near Muizenberg currently provides around 210 children with an excellent education. When all construction stages have been completed in a few years, the primary school will offer space for 700 girls and boys. And this is urgently needed, because more than 2,000 children still live without a school place in the socially and economically disadvantaged suburb of the South African tourist metropolis.

Sport for the good cause

Riitta Knodt has been a Lufthansa flight attendant for 33 years – she has seen the world. “But for me, Cape Town is the most beautiful city in the world. My commitment to iThemba at the Ironman in Frankfurt brings my three heartfelt concerns together: Children, sport and my favourite city”.

Support Riitta’s initiative via betterplace here

Born in Finland, she studied education in her home country and teaches preschool children. “I’ve been doing sport ever since I can think. I was a member of the Lufthansa ski team for twelve years and we were very successful at the European and World Airliner Championships. In my youth, I successfully did athletics and skiing,” she says. She has already taken part in the Ironman, the supreme triathlon discipline, nine times: 3.8 kilometres of swimming, 180 kilometres of cycling and, finally, the marathon distance of 42.2 kilometres, i.e. eleven and a half hours of top physical performance. In 2016 she became vice European champion at the Ironman in Frankfurt and finished 21st at the legendary Ironman World Championships in Hawaii.

“I want to associate my sport with the good thing and every drop of sweat is worth it if I can help the children of iThemba with it”. In November 2018 she visited iThemba Primary School for the first time. “I was totally excited about the children and the project. We organized a small triathlon workshop and did relay races with the children. In February 2019 there were already more than 200 students at my second visit. I look forward to the next time.”

When it says “Ready, steady, Go” on June 30th in Frankfurt am Main, the children of iThemba will certainly keep their fingers crossed for her.

Support us.

Frankfurter Sparkasse 1822
IBAN: DE89 5005 0201 0200 0292 23
BIC: HELADEF1822

/

Mach mit: 226 Kilometer für iThemba

Lufthansa Flugbegleiterin Riitta Knodt widmet ihre Teilnahme beim Ironman Frankfurt dem help alliance-Projekt in Südafrika

Getreu dem Motto „Meter für Meter, Stein für Stein“ nimmt Riitta Knodt am 30. Juni am Ironman in Frankfurt teil und sammelt Spenden für den Schulausbau im help alliance-Projekt iThemba. In einem der ärmsten Townships Kapstadts ermöglicht help alliance in der iThemba Grundschule in Capricorn bei Muizenberg aktuell rund 210 Kindern eine hervorragende Schulbildung. Wenn in einigen Jahren alle Baustufen realisiert sind, bietet die Grundschule Platz für 700 Mädchen und Jungen. Und der wird dringend benötigt, denn in dem sozial und wirtschaftlich benachteiligten Vorort der südafrikanischen Touristenmetropole leben immer noch mehr als 2.000 Kinder ohne Schulplatz.

Sport für die gute Sache

Schon seit 33 Jahren ist Riitta Knodt Flugbegleiterin bei Lufthansa – sie hat die Welt gesehen. „Kapstadt ist für mich aber die schönste Stadt der Welt. Mit meinem Einsatz für iThemba beim Ironman in Frankfurt bringe ich meine drei Herzensangelegenheiten zusammen: Kinder, Sport und meine Lieblingsstadt“. 

 

Unterstütze hier Riittas Initiative auf betterplace

Die gebürtige Finnin hat in ihrem Heimatland Pädagogik studiert und ist Lehrerin für Vorschulkinder. „Sport mache ich seitdem ich denken kann. Zwölf Jahre lang gehörte ich zum Lufthansa-Skiteam und wir waren sehr erfolgreich bei den Airliner Europa-und Weltmeisterschaften. In meiner Jugend habe ich erfolgreich Leichtathletik und Skifahren gemacht“, erzählt sie. Schon neun Mal hat sie am Ironman, der Königsdisziplin unter den Triathlons teilgenommen: 3,8 Kilometer Schwimmen, 180 Kilometer Rad fahren und zum Abschluss geht es über die Marathondistanz von 42,2 Kilometer, das heißt elfeinhalb Stunden körperliche Höchstleistung. 2016 wurde sie beim Ironman in Frankfurt Vizeeuropameisterin und hat bei den legendären Ironman-Weltmeisterschaften auf Hawaii als 21. das Ziel erreicht.

„Ich möchte meinen Sport mit der guten Sache verbinden und jeder Schweißtropfen ist es wert, wenn ich den Kindern von iThemba damit helfen kann“. Im November 2018 hat sie die iThemba Primary School zum ersten Mal besucht. „Ich war total begeistert von den Kindern und dem Projekt. Wir haben einen kleinen Triathlon Workshop organisiert und Staffelläufe mit den Kindern gemacht. Im Februar 2019 waren bei meinem zweiten Besuch dort schon über 200 Schüler. Ich freue mich schon auf das nächste Mal.“

Wenn es am 30. Juni in Frankfurt am Main in Frankfurt heißt „Ready, steady, Go“ werden ihr die Kinder von iThemba mit Sicherheit die Daumen drücken.

 

Unterstützen Sie uns.

Frankfurter Sparkasse 1822
IBAN: DE89 5005 0201 0200 0292 23
BIC: HELADEF1822

/