Fighting poverty with education

iThemba Primary School, Cape Town, South Africa

 
 

The project is part of help alliance since 2015.

Over 2.500 children without access to Primary School education are living in Vrygrond/Capricorn, a socially and economically disadvantaged Township of Cape Town.

Due to the work of iThemba Pre-School, many children already could benefit from excellent pre-school education. In order to strengthen this success a Primary School was built and partly opened in 2018 for 105 first graders. At the beginning of 2019, another group of first graders was admitted, so that the school is now attended by over 200 children every day.

Support us.

iThemba Primary School, Cape Town

Frankfurter Sparkasse 1822
IBAN: DE89 5005 0201 0200 0292 23
BIC: HELADEF1822

Project Coordinator

iThemba Primary School, South Africa

Susanne French, Germany

_dsc7742

Details & Successes

iThemba Primary School, Cape Town, South Africa

A large proportion of people in Vyrgrond / Capricorn are illiterate, only a few speak English while unemployment rate is 70%. This leads to poverty, violence and lack of perspective. Different studies illustrate that the education level of children from the townships lag two to three years behind the educational level of other children.

For many years help alliance has been supporting iThemba Pre-School. Classes are not only teaching mathmatic skills and English, but also social skills.

Unfortunately as many children already switched to public schools a negative outcome became clear: the excellent work, provided by iThemba Pre-School is getting lost after a short period in public schools due to South Africas ailing school system.

Through the construction of a primary school, this risk is intercepted and the children are provided with long-term, sustainable education opportunities.

The iThemba Primary School will be built step by step over the next few years, with the aim of being able to educate 750 children in the future.

First building part was completed at the end of 2017 and the classrooms for 100 children were opened in January 2018. Now it is time to bring the project to an end. The second phase of the construction will begin in october 2019.

/

Mit Bildung Armut bekämpfen

iThemba Primary School, Kapstadt, Südafrika

Das Projekt ist Teil der help alliance seit 2015.

Über 2.500 Kinder ohne einen Schulplatz leben in Vrygrond/Capricorn, einem sozial und wirtschaftlich benachteiligten Vorort von Kapstadt.

Dank der schon bestehenden iThemba Pre-School konnten bereits zahlreiche Kinder von hervorragender Vorschulförderung profitieren. Um auf diesen Erfolg aufzubauen, wurde 2018 der erste Teil der iThemba Primary School für 105 Erstklässler eröffnet. Anfang 2019 wurde eine weitere Gruppe Erstklässler aufgenommen, sodass die Schule nun tagtäglich von über 200 Kindern besucht wird.

Unterstützen Sie uns.

Südafrika: Zukunft durch Bildung für Townshipkinder

Frankfurter Sparkasse 1822
IBAN: DE89 5005 0201 0200 0292 23
BIC: HELADEF1822

Projektleitung

Südafrika: Zukunft durch Bildung für Townshipkinder

Susanne French, Deutschland

_dsc7742

Details & Erfolge

Südafrika: Zukunft durch Bildung für Townshipkinder

Ein Großteil der Menschen in Vyrgrond/Capricorn sind Analphabeten, nur wenige sprechen Englisch, und die Arbeitslosenquote liegt bei 70%. Dies führt zu Armut, Gewalt und Perspektivlosigkeit. Studien belegen, dass Kinder aus den Townships um zwei bis drei Jahre hinter dem Bildungsniveau anderer Kinder zurückbleiben.

Seit Jahren unterstützt help alliance die iThemba Pre-School. Der Unterricht vermittelt nicht nur Rechen- und Englischkenntnisse, sondern vor allem auch soziale Kompetenzen. Inzwischen sind viele Kinder an öffentliche Schulen gewechselt. Dabei hat sich eine Erkenntnis breit gemacht: Die hervorragende Arbeit in der Vorschule geht nach kurzer Zeit im maroden Schulsystem Südafrikas verloren.

Mit der Erweiterung um eine Primary School wird dieses Risiko aufgefangen und den Kindern ein längerfristiges, nachhaltiges Bildungsangebot zu Verfügung gestellt.

Die iThemba Primary School wird stufenweise über die nächsten Jahre errichtet mit dem Ziel, dort zukünftig über 700 Kinder beschulen zu können.

Der erste Bauabschnitt war Ende 2017 beendet und im Januar 2018 wurden die ersten Klassenzimmer für 100 Kinder eröffnet. Nun gilt es, das Projekt zum Abschluss zu bringen. Im Oktober 2019 wird mit der zweiten Phase des Bauplans begonnen.

Zahlen & Fakten

Südafrika

Projektleitung

Südafrika: Zukunft durch Bildung für Townshipkinder

Christian Haude, Deutschland

IMG_0691

Projektort

Kapstadt, Südafrika

ha_landkarten_140415_jb_kapstadt
/