The thirst for knowledge remains unbroken

Interview with Sebastian Zurfähr, Lufthansa employee and Mentor

An important building block of the help alliance cooperation with the education platform Kiron is the mentor programme for refugee students. Around a dozen employees from different companies in the Lufthansa Group answered help alliance’s call and agreed to assist students on their journey. Sebastian Zurfähr, BER CP/A, is one of these people. In an interview with ONE he explains his motivation, tells of his first encounters in the Study Center and of the students’ thirst for knowledge.

Mr Zurfähr, what motivated you to apply for the mentoring programme?

After the first overwhelming wave of help for the migrants arriving in Germany in 2015, I got the feeling over the last year that there was a certain tiredness creeping into the population about the situation. That is what motivated me to get in touch. For a long time, I wanted to get involved and was looking for a sustainable project that also fitted in with my professional and personal situation.

You chose a help alliance cooperation project.

On the one hand it is a kind of seal of quality if your company’s charitable organisation has reviewed a project and found it good. As a volunteer, that also gives you the feeling that this is something meaningful, it’s got substance and is trusted. On the other hand, my personal evaluation of the concept was also essential in my decision.

Was it the concept that convinced you?

Yes, it reminded me of my own time as a student. It is absolutely necessary that online courses are complemented by a study centre and a mentor programme. This is also common at German universities. The Study Center performs the function of a refectory or a library, a place where you not only go to study, but also to exchange ideas and meet friends.

Have you already met the students?

Initial meetings with the students have already taken place. Kiron is very careful to provide the mentors and students with comprehensive information and guidance. There are mentor training events planned which will prepare us for the special situation of dealing with refugee students. You do not feel alone. At the beginning, just getting to know them is important. This takes place via social events organised by Kiron.

How often do these social events take place?

At least every two weeks. Especially in the start-up phase, it’s important to know when it’s best to come to the Study Center ie. when the students are usually there. A very interesting aspect in this mentor programme is also the idea that there are no specific pairs who work together, but rather the mentors at the Study Center are a point of contact for all students. This makes absolute sense because many of the questions asked are the same. And why should the students only draw on the experience of one mentor?

What was your impression?

The students were very motivated, they had very specific questions, for example, about application procedures when applying to German companies etc. And I have to say that I was a little surprised. The commitment and the thirst for knowledge was palpable, it really impressed me. It is of course a general problem that highly motivated refugee students are in some instances unemployed for weeks, or that they do not have a suitable place where they can concentrate on learning the online content. This need is covered by the Study Center. It’s a brilliant project. I am looking forward to the exchange and the encounters I will have.

About Kiron Higher Education…

Wissensdurst ist ungebrochen

Ein wichtiger Baustein der help alliance-Kooperation mit der Bildungsplattform Kiron ist das Mentorenprogramm für geflüchtete Studierende. Rund ein Dutzend Mitarbeiter aus unterschiedlichen Gesellschaften der Lufthansa Group sind dem Aufruf der help alliance gefolgt und haben sich bereiterklärt, die Studierenden auf ihrem Weg zu begleiten. Sebastian Zurfähr, BER CP/A, ist einer von ihnen. Im Gespräch mit ONE erzählt er über seine Motivation, erste Begegnungen im Study Center und den Wissensdurst der Studierenden.

Herr Zurfähr, was hat Sie motiviert, sich für das Mentorenprogramm zu melden?

Nach der ersten überwältigenden Welle der Hilfsbereitschaft für die ankommenden Migranten in Deutschland im Jahr 2015 hatte ich im vergangenen Jahr das Gefühl, dass eine gewisse Müdigkeit in der Bevölkerung eingetreten ist. Das hat mich motiviert, mich zu melden. Ich hatte schon länger den Wunsch, mich zu engagieren und war auf der Suche nach einem nachhaltigen Projekt, das auch zu meiner beruflichen und persönlichen Situation passt.

Ihre Wahl fiel auf ein Kooperationsprojekt der help alliance.

Zum einen ist es ja auch eine Art Qualitätssiegel, wenn die Hilfsorganisation der eigenen Firma ein Projekt geprüft und für gut befunden hat. Da hat man als ehrenamtlich engagierter Mensch auch das Gefühl: Das ist etwas sinnvolles, das hat Substanz und ist vertrauenswürdig. Zum anderen war auch meine persönliche Bewertung des Konzeptes entscheidend.

Das Konzept hat sie überzeugt?

Ja, ich fühlte mich an meine eigene Studentenzeit erinnert. Es ist absolut notwendig, das Online-Lehrangebot durch ein Study Center und ein Mentorenprogramm zu ergänzen. Das ist an deutschen Hochschulen ja auch üblich. Das Study Center hat somit die Funktion einer Mensa oder einer Bibliothek, ein Ort nicht nur zum Lernen, sondern vielmehr auch zum Austausch und Freunde treffen.

Haben Sie die Studierenden bereits getroffen?

Es gab bereits die ersten Treffen mit Studierenden. Kiron ist sehr darauf bedacht, die Mentoren und Studierenden umfassend zu informieren und anzuleiten. Es sind auch Mentorentrainings geplant, die uns dann auf die besondere Situation im Umgang mit den geflüchteten Studierenden vorbereitet. Man fühlt sich nicht alleingelassen. Zu Beginn ist aber erstmal das Kennenlernen wichtig. Das geschieht über Social Events, die Kiron organisiert.

Wie oft finden diese Social Events statt?

Mindestens alle zwei Wochen. Gerade in der Startphase ist es wichtig zu wissen, zu welchen Zeiten es Sinn macht, in das Study Center zu kommen, wann die Studierenden in der Regel da sind. Ein sehr interessanter Aspekt in diesem Mentorenkonzept ist zudem die Idee, dass es keine konkreten Tandems gibt, sondern die Mentoren im Study Center Ansprechpartner für alle Studierende sind. Das macht absolut Sinn, weil viele Fragen auch deckungsgleich sind. Und warum sollen die Studierenden nur auf die Erfahrung von einem Mentor zurückgreifen dürfen?

Wie waren ihre Eindrücke?

Die Studierenden waren sehr motiviert, sie hatten sehr konkrete Fragen z.B. über Bewerbungsverfahren deutscher Firmen usw. Und ich muss sagen, dass ich schon ein bisschen überrascht war. Das Engagement und der Wissensdurst der spürbar war, haben mich beeindruckt. Es ist ja ein generelles Problem, dass hochmotivierte geflüchtete Studierende teilweise über Wochen beschäftigungslos sind bzw. auch keinen geeigneten Ort haben, um konzentriert die online zur Verfügung gestellten Inhalte zu lernen. Dieser Bedarf wird durch das Study Center abgedeckt. Ein tolles Projekt. Ich freue mich auf den Austausch und die Begegnungen.

Mehr Informationen zur Kooperation der help alliance mit Kiron Open Higher Education gibt es hier…

/